Enter planning mode: here are next year’s public holidays (hello, seven long weekends!)

Who doesn’t love some time off? Get set to enter your happy place: we present all the public holiday dates for 2020 so you can ace your breaks and maximise your annual leave.

Oh long weekend, how we love thee. There’s (almost) nothing better than an extended break from work so we can enjoy all that fabulous fam time and keep the weekend vibes going. Not forgetting giving us ample opportunity to book in some short breaks overseas (or maybe even a cheeky staycation in Singapore). And, lucky for you and the little ones, there are oodles of short working weeks and loooooong weekends to keep big ol’ smiles on all your dials. Now all you need to do is compare our handy list of Singapore’s public holidays in 2020 with our super-duper chart of school holiday dates to earn extra happy points. Ready, set, pack your bags!

Here’s all the public holiday dates (and how to make the most of ‘em)

Wednesday, 1 January: New Year’s Day
#MumHack: book Monday, 30 December and Tuesday, 31 December off for five days off!

Saturday, 25–Sunday, 26 January: Chinese New Year (public holiday falls on Monday on 27 January)
#MumHack: book Friday, 24 January and Tuesday, 28 January off for a five-day whopper of a weekend!

Friday, 10 April: Good Friday
#MumHack: book Thursday, 9 April and Monday, 13 April off for five days of fam time!

Friday, 1 May: Labour Day
#MumHack: book Thursday, 30 April and Monday, 2 May off if you want to write a five-day Out of Office autoreply! 

Thursday, 7 May: Vesak Day
#MumHack: book Friday, 8 May and Monday, 11 May off for five whole days of frolicking!

Sunday, 24 May: Hari Raya Puasa (public holiday falls on Monday on 25 May)
#MumHack: book Friday, 22 May and Tuesday, 26 May for another five days of fambam chills!

Friday, 31 July: Hari Raya Haji
#MumHack: book Thursday, 30 July and Monday, 3 August off for an wow-inducing five days’ leave!

Sunday, 9 August: National Day (public holiday falls on Monday on 10 August)
#MumHack: book Friday, 7 August and Tuesday, 11 August off to celebrate over five days of awesomeness!

Saturday, 14 November: Deepavali
#MumHack: book Friday, 13 November and Monday, 16 November off for a whole four days in a row off!

Friday, 25 December: Christmas Day
#MumHack: book Thursday, 24 December and Monday, 28 December off for a five-day looooong break!

And whatever you do, don’t forget these important dates, either:

They aren’t all recognised days off but, while you’ve got the diary out, make a note of these ones too so you won’t be caught out with last-minute gift dramas… 

Sunday, 10 May: Mother’s Day
Sunday, 21 June: Father’s Day
Friday, 4 September: Teacher’s Day
Friday, 2 October: Children’s Day
Sunday, 22 November: National Grandparents’ Day

Also, check out our handy chart of school holiday dates so you know when term ends and starts. Be sure to check individual school websites for exact dates, as holidays vary (and some schools throw in some extra days off for good measure, too!).

Inspo for what to do with all that time off

If your wanderlust is raging, check out our in-depth guides to travelling to some of the world’s best destinations for kids. From city breaks and trips Down Under to one-flight island getaways and Asia’s best hotel kids’ clubs, you can bet your bottom dollar we’ve done it. On top of that, we’ve got all the tips for flying with kids (including doing it solo), what snacks to pack and how to avoid excess baggage costs, plus the best travel cots, lightweight strollers and family-friendly airlines. Here’s to a 2020 packed with fantastic plans!

**emails boss immediately**

Top image: Copper and Wild via Unsplash

Like this story? Here’s more we think you’ll enjoy:

Ultimate family road trip destinations
Family-friendly skiing holidays
Ditch the kids for a weekend away with the girls
Changi Airport with kids

Don’t forget to subscribe to our weekly newsletter and follow us for fun moments on HoneyKids Instagram!